Intense ping problem

OverKill1376

New Adventurer
Reaction score
Hey, so I'm having some ping problems.
I've been playing MSC since 3 years ago or something. Anyway, about 2-3 times (excluding right now) I've had a sudden unusual ping problem where when I view a server on the Server Browser, it has low ping for me (around 140 because I live in Iran). But when I join that server, my ping suddenly starts going way up. Between 400-1100. Keeps going up and down for no reason. I have no background downloads and I've tried port forwarding but it doesn't work.
As I said, I've had this problem before. I couldn't fix it back then either. I just came back a while later (probably months) and it was magically fixed.

Right now I'm having this problem and it's really annoying.

Does anyone have any idea on what I should do?

IMPORTANT: I also sometimes get kicked form the server with the message "Reliable Channel Overflowed". I think this is the key word for my problem.

Extra info: as I said, the ping generally being high, it does go up and down every few seconds . From a minimum of 380 to a maximum 1400. So if I run straight, at one point it will be a fluid move and at one point I will suddenly get stuck or be pushed forward.
I don't think it's because of my computer because I haven't change my computer or it's parts since then. And my internet service has actually been better than ever.
My game is up to date. (NOV2016a update).
I have tried reinstalled Half-Life and MSC but it didn't work.

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
MSC Archivist
Reaction score
Hopefully I don't get GITMO'd for giving technical advice to Iran. (Sh*t's craycray here, ya never know.)

Since your character is loading, this isn't the character corruption problem... There's a lot of things that can cause other sorts of Reliable Channel Overflow, but 99% of the time it's this:

Are you using a wireless router?

Stop doing that - get an ethernet cable and a drill, and fix that sh*t.