My char got deleted.

Diogo

New Adventurer
Reaction score
I was gonna play at thothies today,couple hours ago but the server was full,so i went to play CSS. When i came back my character was replaced with some char called "LOAD ERROR RECONNECT" or something. I was level 10,now i'm level 1. What the hell? Can anyone restore me?

My ingame name was D.Campos,1st slot, steam id is STEAM_0:0:1713986.

PLEASE help me, i started playing today,and i don't want to lose my char....

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
MSC Archivist
Reaction score
/me POUNDS HEAD INTO KEYBOARD

Okay...

What part of "LOAD ERROR RECONNECT" and "DO NOT CLICK!" did you NOT understand!? >< FFS!!!

Let's face it, there's just no way to stop players from deleting themselves this way... I'm out of idears lest I figure something with the hard code, or figure what I did to make chars unloadable before...

If your STEAM_ID hasn't authenticated by the time you connect to the server, you cannot load your character, as it is ID dependant, you must reconnect. *IF* however, if you disobey the warning and click on the "DO NOT CLICK!" character - it becomes your character after your Steam_ID authenticates. This character was created as a placeholder to stop players from winding up with stolen 'clones' of one another's characters.

I tried... I really did... I dun think I can make it any clearer than this:

duh.gif

Anyone got any other ideas while I restore this guy's character?

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
MSC Archivist
Reaction score
Follow up:

Either the ID you gave me is wrong, or you created your character within the last six hours, as there is no ID in the latest backup archive (created 6am Central) by that number:
steam_id_wtf.gif

If it is a brand new character, you can't have lost very much data though. (And if you are that new, maybe I can feel better about the future of humanity and let the inability to read basic instructions slide...)

The Man In Black