Modeling Tutorials

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,245
Reaction score
283
Location
lost
Modeling Tutorials:
http://www.poopinmymouth.com/tutorial/tutorial.htm - Extensive tutorial collect, some with video
http://chumbalum.swissquake.ch/ms3d/tutorials.html - Milkshape3D Official Tutorials
http://www.3dtotal.com/ - Tutorials for various modeling programs
http://www.moddb.com/tutorials/milkshap ... ndamentals - ModDB Milkshape3D Fundamentals

Specific Task Tutorials:
http://www.game-artist.net/forums/vbart ... ticleid=38 - Unwrapping in 3dsMax ver 6+
http://www.monkeydid.co.uk/RigCode/Page01.html - Advanced Rigging in 3dsMax
http://www.monkeydid.co.uk/AOtut/BakingAO.html - High to Low Ambient Occulusion in 3dsMax 6+
http://www.gamasutra.com/features/20061 ... a_01.shtml - Seamless textures in 3dsMax
http://solentgamers.com/files/setting_u ... er_136.jpg - Finding proper poly counts in 3dsMax
http://www.hl-improvement.com/forums/in ... pic=9069.0 - Rigging with Milkshape3D

Photoshop Tutorials: (skinning)
http://www.pslover.com/

Useful Tools:
Jed's HLMV (model viewer)
GUI StudioMDL (Win32 Gui wrapper for the Half-Life model compiler)
Latest StudioMDL (good for large models)

Base Modeling Porgrams:
3ds Max Trial Download (Latest)
3ds Max Trial Download (Version 7)
Milkshape3D & SDK Trial Download
Maya Personal Learning Edition

If someone has other useful links they would suggest, please post them here, and I'll add them to the top post. I don't do modeling, so I'm not a good source for this stuff.
 

Gaz

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
629
Reaction score
0

Shurik3n

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
1,357
Reaction score
0
Age
30
Now I have to ditch milkshape and get max... >.<.
 

Gaz

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
629
Reaction score
0
It does, you just need to read the instructions ;)

Its been in max since version2
 

Gaz

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
629
Reaction score
0
Ok, looks like they took it out of max 9, and changed it...

"7"

you can also right clcik the viewport name, go into preferences, statistics and set the parameters you would like to view. I have experienced viewport slowdowns with the statistics on, so make sure you toggle it off if you experience the same slowdown.

So I guess you have to press 7 ;) I need to get max 9 now I guess
 

Drigien

New Adventurer
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
103
Reaction score
0
Location
Canada
Gaz said:
"7"

you can also right clcik the viewport name, go into preferences, statistics and set the parameters you would like to view. I have experienced viewport slowdowns with the statistics on, so make sure you toggle it off if you experience the same slowdown.

thats been in since max6, they just updated it in 9 with more info.
 

Gaz

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
629
Reaction score
0
Yeah, no where near as good as ole polycounter
 

[FSM]The Owneded

New Adventurer
Joined
Jun 13, 2007
Messages
146
Reaction score
0
Location
The Internets
Gaz said:
Ok, looks like they took it out of max 9, and changed it...

"7"

you can also right clcik the viewport name, go into preferences, statistics and set the parameters you would like to view. I have experienced viewport slowdowns with the statistics on, so make sure you toggle it off if you experience the same slowdown.

So I guess you have to press 7 ;) I need to get max 9 now I guess

Ja, thats what I've been using. But zomg Gaz was wrong about something :oldshock:
 

Gaz

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
629
Reaction score
0
[FSM]The Owneded said:
Gaz said:
Ok, looks like they took it out of max 9, and changed it...

"7"

you can also right clcik the viewport name, go into preferences, statistics and set the parameters you would like to view. I have experienced viewport slowdowns with the statistics on, so make sure you toggle it off if you experience the same slowdown.

So I guess you have to press 7 ;) I need to get max 9 now I guess

Ja, thats what I've been using. But zomg Gaz was wrong about something :oldshock:

I wasnt wrong :p Just different in max 9, and Ive yet to use that version.
 

Gaz

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
629
Reaction score
0
No, I was right, just not for you, who was using max9 :p So Yes I was wrong, but 100% right as well :p
 

Dridje

Epic Adventurer
MSC Developer
Socialist Guild
Alpha Tester
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Messages
2,243
Reaction score
63
Hello everyone, I've decided to actually try and learn to model now, but I can't find any tutorials on how to start. I'm planning to use 3DSMAX Version 9 for modeling so if you having any experience and can help me, please help.
 
Top