Bug Reports SEP2011a

Status
Not open for further replies.
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #1

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
:arrow: = Working on it, :?: = wtf/unconfirmed, :idea: = fixed next release

Known issues

:?: Starting an HLDS or listenserver with the -num_edicts flag may lead to crashes on some maps.
- 1500 *maybe* a safe range...

Minor
:arrow: Teleport entrance to mummy chamber on Deraliasewers is too close to ground (might merge with mummies)
- I may or may not have fixed this (if I did, I forgot to log it) - someone give me a heads up.
:?: Edana Mayor's quest still screwy. (maybe)
:idea: Couple of items in Phlame's chest cost cash to remove
:idea: Phlame's Blacksmith Chest not distributing gold
:?: Votepvp dysfunctional

Aesthetic
:?: Texture scrambling issues when playing for a period of time
:?: Some players report additive render weapons not rendering so in first person, or otherwise rendering incorrectly (Felewyn Shard, Hoarfrost Blade, GIB, etc.)
:?: Disconnecting while dead results in invisible body and armor on reconnect.
:?: Using changelevel instead of votemap or admin_map may cause various texture issues.
:arrow: Some p_models vanishing into floor
:?: Lack of level up sfx for Polearms (for some players)

Ancient/Perpetual
Known Ancient bugs:
- No Free Edict Errors (ED_Alloc:no free edicts), usually the result of overloading the server in one way or another. You can *try* hosting with the -num_edicts flag, however, this may prevent some maps from loading. We're constantly working to mitigate this bug.
- All entities invisible bug (type kill in console to cure).
- Lights/sprites not going away / sticking to other objects (Sticky client-side effects)
- Occasionally a weapon/spell will stop doing damage until it is unequipped then re-equipped.
- Can't use charge attack in laggy conditions. (Work around: use +special or +uber)
- Sitting animation bugs (sometimes saves to character for awhile)
- All water sometimes goes white (texture stretch bug, restart)
- Typing issues in chat. Especially with European keyboards.
- Various Health/mana indicator madness (see also yonder)
- Small sack holds stuff it should not.
- Ticket Bank freaks if you have more than one of the ticket or item you are trying to trade
--> Galat chest does not have this issue.
- Double attack bug, most prominant with xbows
- All tomahawks appear as fire tomahawks in third person
- Heavy/Light Crossbow jamming when firing
- You cannot use NPC/GM/menus/chests when inventory is full (not a bug, insomuch a necessary limitation, at the moment.)

Also Not liable to go away soon:
- Jumping from server to server without closing |MSC screws with FN functionality
(solution: ALWAYS close MSC before joining or creating a new server!)
- Some monsters still capable of some acts while frozen (jumping, etc.)
- Orion Bow jamming sometimes, (I've no idea how to fix this without dropping the whole charged weapon concept.)
- Can't push monsters while under the effect of leadfoot potion

Resolved from JUN2011a:
- Dragooncaves not loading
- Secondary 2h Axe charge not working (Also Ice Typhoon)
- Oceancrossing cannon
- Having between 2001 and 2501 totalhp on Deralia Sewers causing boss not to spawn
- Demonic Blackhand's dropping battle-axes, despite wielding swords
- Keledros and clones not reporting XP on second death
- Tomahawk turning into Bow in Left Hand.
- Tropical2 skyzboxs missing
 

Stoned

New Adventurer
Jul 24, 2009
856
0
24
Minor problems:

The ice blocks you use to get to and fro in Tundra are annoying. I easily get stuck on them, hindering my ability to jump off onto the next one and the next one has the same problem.

I also had some trouble with the entrance to the library in Tundra. It's too small, somewhat tricky to get through.
 

zeus9860

Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
Crusaders
The True Followers of the Lost
Alpha Tester
Feb 28, 2008
2,549
18
27
lolwut
Got stuck in one of the moving platforms in tundra after dreaking potions >_<

Tundra seems crashes if someone uses a galat chest scroll, and loots it a few times.
 

Dridje

Renowned Adventurer
MSC Developer
Socialist Guild
Alpha Tester
Feb 2, 2007
2,230
49
Pheonix bow in phlames chest costs $1500 gold to take out.
 

zeus9860

Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
Crusaders
The True Followers of the Lost
Alpha Tester
Feb 28, 2008
2,549
18
27
lolwut
This patch ate my steam crossbow, wtf? It also ate a guildmate's steam crossbow for some reason... I did use it on the server once after patch was released, that one time on edana, after that they just vanished, and i thought i had it on bank (which is not true).
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #7

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
The func_trains (icebergs) on Tundra are, inevitably, potentially buggy. Generally, they behave unless they are blocked by an NPC for a good length of time - then they start getting stuck on (and sticking) pretty much everything. As for being difficult to use, that's more deliberate. Getting from the first large one to the smaller icebergs should be easy enough though.

Once you kill enough bears out front, some new ice flows will appear, allowing you to bypass all but the first iceberg.

Alternatively - head to Tundra from ms_snow and use the transition there. You'll avoid the water altogether.



As for Phlame's chest - if I had a nickel for every time I've pulled that one... >< Can't think of any logical reasons for the bank or Steam Xbow reports though- hopefully flukes.
 

Slash

New Adventurer
The Dragonknights
Feb 7, 2011
62
0
zeus9860 said:
This patch ate my steam crossbow, wtf? It also ate a guildmate's steam crossbow for some reason... I did use it on the server once after patch was released, that one time on edana, after that they just vanished, and i thought i had it on bank (which is not true).

patch also ate my steam xbow too :(



also, on Tundra, I died (sorry I can't remember the specifics, was kinda drunk) and when I respawned, it said I couldn't access mah inventory or do spells. I wasn't frozen or stunned or anything....I had to reconnect to fix.
 

Caluminium

Adventurer
Shadows of Torkalath
Alpha Tester
Feb 16, 2010
483
7
23
Rideon said:
Phlame's End chest didn't let me loot it
I've seen that happen with a Tundra chest too.


It is possible to get stuck inside Phlames when he transforms back to human form.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Shouldn't be... He actually respawns 200 units off the ground in the center of the room - he just fades back in, so as to make it look as though he re-appeared on the ground. If you're standing there when he does, he should just land on your head.

Those chests require that you have at least half the average damage points, as do all individualized chests, but they should still open and offer some basic gold and resupply. Sometimes, if you leave and return after a chest spawns, it'll lose you as a valid customer, and it'll tell you the chest is empty.
 

Fegged

New Adventurer
The Dragonknights
Aug 12, 2010
527
0
23
I't doesn't say anything, i just kept clicking on it when it came and nothing happend D:
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Hrmmm... :\
 

cartman-2000

New Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
Jun 6, 2010
160
0
34
Beaverton, Oregon
I also lost a steam xbow in this patch, had 2, one in my chest and one in my inventory the one in the inventory went poof(never even used it.), but the item count on my char didn't change... Edit: I also had a reloc go poof too, item count still the same as before both went poof...
 

Keldorn

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Mar 12, 2009
531
0
31
New York, NY
The teleporter in phlames leads to an area with a low ceiling, so players that enter simultaneously can get stuck together without being able to /stuck out.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
I assume you mean the one past the bug boss - I think there's multiple receivers there, so stuckage should be rare... If not, maybe we need to work on getting that teleporter thing to cycle receivers, rather than choosing them randomly.
 

zeus9860

Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
Crusaders
The True Followers of the Lost
Alpha Tester
Feb 28, 2008
2,549
18
27
lolwut
The not opening chest issue people are getting is related to their item count. If you happen to have 73 or 74 items (not sure which value is), u cant open chests anymore unless u bank items or drop items and loot.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Oh... Yeah... Bugger... You can't use banks, stores/chests, or interact with NPC menus if your inventory is full... I shall have to make it give you some sort of message in this regards (although in some cases you'll get the "can't use inventory now" message).
 

Keldorn

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Mar 12, 2009
531
0
31
New York, NY
For some reason, in phlames, a box appeared at the smith area after me and Avacado got to the reaver area. The door did not get destroyed, so we were unable to complete the map after we died.

Total hp was 1989 in server.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
That's... Interesting... As if the twal got toggled twice, for some reason. Don't see anything on the map that would cause that, regardless of hp total though. Maybe something buggered up and the blacksmith's death call went off twice for some reason.
 

Supercoke

New Adventurer
Jul 5, 2011
55
0
The chest-no-open glitch happens when you have full items. Drop some of your shit to open it. Only seems to have been happening with that one Phlames chest only.

I've personally seen Phlames phase inside of a player if he's standing on the platform where he rises down.
 

Srgnt Rehab

New Adventurer
DarkTide
Nov 7, 2009
432
0
27
Even I don't know...
Issue: Ice staff is the best item of all time, is this working as intended?
The only issue I found with it is the ability to get places that you shouldn't be able to (not like rats and axes haven't already broken this)

for example: Just by right clicking you can go into edana square's exit and not even feel the trigger push. It pretty much cancels any trigger push.
 

zeus9860

Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
Crusaders
The True Followers of the Lost
Alpha Tester
Feb 28, 2008
2,549
18
27
lolwut
Srgnt Rehab said:
for example: Just by right clicking you can go into edana square's exit and not even feel the trigger push. It pretty much cancels any trigger push.
>_>
<_<
>_<

Yes, lets ask for a nerf on the only usefull/worthwhile ability on that thing... Seriously who gives a damn if you are not paying 2-5 gold to get in edana square, plus i don't see anything bad coming from this since there aren't many (or probably not even one) map(s) using that type pushing barrier.


If it happened to be something like getting into an area without doing the map, then i would agree, but on this case i dont.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
That thar be the potential issue, as there are various locales where trigger pushes have been used as "player only clips"... I dunno if I can rig the thing to detect that it's in a trigger push or something. Possibly...

But yes, the thing was intended to be "raven mace deluxe" - so I'll do what I can to avoid removing the ability completely (and if it comes to that [gods I hope not, cuz the thing is so fun], give it some insane attack to compensate.)

From an aesthetic pov... I wish I could lock the player's legs when he was sliding, rather than get the same rapid-run crap we get with the raven mace. Not critical - just irks me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top