1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

INFO Bug Reports NOV2015a

Discussion in 'Current Patch Discussion' started by Thothie, Nov 23, 2015.

  1. Malachite

    Malachite Adventurer Heroes of Dawn

    94
    6
    Dec 31, 2015
    Male
    United States
    Off topic here, but is it ever possible to get a launcher (framework window) that automatically patches work finished by devs to server and client? instead of downloading patches etc from the site it does it from a launcher?

    Idk if it may help with keeping updates constant and neat additions and tests with the community than waiting for a rather large update and a installer.
     
  2. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,073
    47
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    Possible, surely - finding someone to code it up, on the other hand, and then getting it to launch in Steam. (The latter of which maybe a non-issue, come the migration.)

    It'd be nice to at least have something that checked the current version on the website and gave you a prompt to update, which I suppose I know enough to do, outside of the SDK, but inside, I can't even get it to do anything before a map loads.

    I actually tried to get it to launch an external program, after map load, but it seems the engine has some sorta protection against it. The intent was to launch a program to make a randomly generated map on request - not that the generator itself is ready for prime time, just experimenting.
     
  3. furion001

    furion001 New Adventurer Shadows of Torkalath

    227
    0
    Jan 15, 2010
    Fuzzy thing.
    Fairview UT, USA
    Yeah... was probably not the best idea for me to do the copy paste method. but I was still learning how to script at the time and I didn't even know inheritance was a thing I could do at the time... heh.. my bad I suppose..

    Doesn't matter now anyway, had a harddrive crash a year ago that erased all my dev stuff, all my maps, scripts, models, everything.. Poof gone just like that. So I wouldn't have be able to fix them. (or attempted to fix them)
     
  4. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,073
    47
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    Not your fault so much as Lord K's for giving you buggy starting material (and maybe mine for not warning you, though I canna recall if I had the chance).

    I can get ya some of that back - PM'd ya a link.
     
  5. furion001

    furion001 New Adventurer Shadows of Torkalath

    227
    0
    Jan 15, 2010
    Fuzzy thing.
    Fairview UT, USA
    Ahhh! Much appreciated Thoth.
     
  6. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    If you enter the world already holding a weapon, you get the 30% dual wield penalty, despite holding only one weapon. I tested it in the alpha with eth dagger and the blood sword from that one orc dude, I forget what it's called, and in the release, I tested it with the Fang's tooth.

    Putting the weapon away and re-equipping it fixes the penalty.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2018
  7. Kanta

    Kanta Active Adventurer

    285
    32
    Jan 24, 2013
    Level 45 Zauberei Basher
    ms_swamp
    Ice Guardian ladies shoot an icicle projectile that never misses now matter how hard you try to dodge it. It also deals pierce damage(Not sure if mistake or unfair design choice).
     
  8. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,073
    47
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    Reworking the whole parry system from scratch is on the list of things to do before next patch.

    There's no real dependable way of detecting every possible equipment change or initialization, it seems, so I suspect we're doomed to rig up a system that checks what items the player has equipped every second where PLR_IN_WORLD is true to finally nix the last of the bugs out of this thing and simplify. It's somewhat complicated by the fact that many of the variables set by the current parry system are used by other systems in the game, so we'll have to be careful that it populates all the same setvards correctly (such as ACTIVE_WEAPON etc.) Probably a new include, player/player_weapons - in which we'll move all the player-script side weapon handling.

    I've added a few more $get()'s related to this process already for more dependable item detection, particularly as it relates to main-hand/off-hand.

    Most icicle attacks do piercing damage and apply a cold DOT+effect. Glancing over it, I think they may be cheating a bit to get a resource friendly ice spike storm attack. Think it's actually a series of traceline attacks, so you should be able to take cover, but otherwise, yeah, gonna get hit. The projectile speed is 1500, so it should look more or less like a bullet - but maybe with a potion of speed or such it might look dodgable. Might look into tweaking, but I dun want these gals to start doing the lag burst that the ice skeleton's projectile storms and the like used to cause.
     
  9. Kanta

    Kanta Active Adventurer

    285
    32
    Jan 24, 2013
    Level 45 Zauberei Basher
    ms_swamp
    ... These ice ladies icicle attack is the only one that deals pierce damage, across other NPCs and player attacks.

    Anyways, the model is far slower than the projectile. So by the time it has closed half the distance, the actual projectile has hit you.
     
  10. Rhodeder

    Rhodeder New Adventurer Christian Warrior's of God

    197
    0
    Oct 26, 2004
    Special Fx Artist. Proffessional Web Designer
    Los Angeles
    I cant play the latest version, it says its testing new opengl features then everything turns blown out with white contrast and there is no way to disable it.
     
  11. MS:C community

    MS:C community Active Adventurer

    380
    29
    Jul 7, 2011
    Yeah that's probably the half-assed, broken bloom lighting that should have been disabled years ago, as the entire community has suggested over and over.
    Open the console and type:
    ms_bloom_level "0"
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2018
  12. Kanta

    Kanta Active Adventurer

    285
    32
    Jan 24, 2013
    Level 45 Zauberei Basher
    ms_swamp
    Also unbind b.
     
  13. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,073
    47
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    Or just tap B until the screen comes back as the pop-up shoulda explained.

    [​IMG]

    That, along with double-tap dodging, should be disabled by default come the next full installer.

    Shame, put a lot of work into Bloom. Updating the libraries does not seem to have expanded compatibility any.
     
  14. zeus9860

    zeus9860 Adventurer Crusaders Blades of Urdual The True Followers of the Lost

    2,507
    6
    Feb 28, 2008
    Troll
    lolwut
    Bloom was actually a nice touch to the game, while it worked that is. Upgrading from my old gaming laptop to a more modern desktop pc messed it all up sadly.
     
  15. Kanta

    Kanta Active Adventurer

    285
    32
    Jan 24, 2013
    Level 45 Zauberei Basher
    ms_swamp
    It works fine in software mode, but not opengl. At least for me.
     
  16. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    lol
     
  17. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,073
    47
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    That'd be very odd, given that it's an OpenGL filter. :\
     
  18. MS:C community

    MS:C community Active Adventurer

    380
    29
    Jul 7, 2011
    I was in shad_palace the other day with Sir Sausage and Kaara. We beat the map, got to the throne room, Runegahr saw someone's blood drinker and was like "HEY GUYS sup".

    So we said "friend" and the route to the transition zone opened. We started a vote to change the map.

    While standing in the transition zone, Sir Sausage said "foe" in area chat for the lols.
    Turns out we got more lols than we bargained for because Runegahr heard him and sorc_villa turned hostile.

    Could you please script Runegahr to accept the first answer given and the first answer only?
     
  19. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,073
    47
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    lols... I'll take care of that. (edit: Done.)
     
  20. MS:C community

    MS:C community Active Adventurer

    380
    29
    Jul 7, 2011
    The cold d.o.t. from elite dragoon martial artists does knockback.

    Edit: I encountered another one and its d.o.t. did *not* do knockback... Strange.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2018
  21. Kanta

    Kanta Active Adventurer

    285
    32
    Jan 24, 2013
    Level 45 Zauberei Basher
    ms_swamp
    If it's anything like how the axe leap attack works, then d.o.t. will do knockback only when a specific attack is happening. To clarify, try d.o.t.ing an enemy then use an axe leap (2nd charge) and the affected enemy will get pushed around during the jump even if you aren't anywhere near them.
     
    MS:C community likes this.
  22. MS:C community

    MS:C community Active Adventurer

    380
    29
    Jul 7, 2011
    lolwtf
     
  23. Kanta

    Kanta Active Adventurer

    285
    32
    Jan 24, 2013
    Level 45 Zauberei Basher
    ms_swamp
    If you break line of sight with zombie dwarven bowmen (the ones with the heavy crossbows) they will shoot two bolts in rapid fire instead of one when they see you again.
     
  24. TheOysterHippopotami

    TheOysterHippopotami Adventurer Source Developer Developer DarkTide RiP

    1,050
    12
    Sep 6, 2009
    I think (but am not certain) there is a glitch with the reset "whenever any monster is depleted" feature on the ms_monsterspawn entity.

    As far as I can tell, If you have a group of monsters tied to an ms_monsterspawn that resets "whenever any monster is depleted" and there are still monsters left alive when the ms_monsterspawn gets triggered again, it has a high likelihood of breaking that particular monster, preventing him from ever respawning again. You will notice your monster group thinning out over time because of this and eventually they can all stop spawning entirely.

    Edit: It's apparently not this simple but I can't seem to identify the cause.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2018
  25. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,073
    47
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    Added to the list - been noticing something along those lines but couldn't put my finger on what it was.

    Might try rigging up a simple box map to see if you can reproduce it reliably. Send it over with instructions, and we'll see if we can track down the cause.

    If we can't, like some other bugs with monster spawn tracking, ya might have to rig up some alternative via multiple spawns and relays or some such.
     

Share This Page