INFO Bug Reports NOV2015a

  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #1

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost
:?: = unconfirmed or not reproduced, :oldangry: = No clue, :arrow: = Working on it, :idea: = fixed next release

Known issues

:arrow: Starting an HLDS or listenserver with the -num_edicts flag higher than 1500 may lead to crashes on some maps.*
- 1500 is now the default for clients. Servers should set their -num_edicts flags to 1500 as well, via the command line.
- Valve broke listlib.gam "commandargs" functionality, so you must add this to your client launch options as well!
-- Go to Steam->Library
-- Right click on Master Sword Continued 1.2
-- Click "Properties"
-- Click "Set Launch Options"
-- Add -num_edicts 1500
- Sadly we've no way of doing this for you by via the installer.

Minor
:idea: Heavy/Light Crossbow jamming when firing
:idea: All tomahawks appear as fire tomahawks in third person
:idea: Randomly, you get one XP more or less than you normally would from killing a monster.
- Not technically a bug, just math. Distributing 100 exp equally to 3 skills gives you 33.33 exp each, but since exp is an integer you only actually gain 99. Same thing with 200 exp becoming 201 exp. System remains, but removing the "bug" report and informing anyone who might care.
:idea: Disconnecting while dead results in invisible body and armor on reconnect.
:idea: All entities invisible bug (type kill in console to cure).
:idea: lostcastle_msc->skycastle transition broken (detects as illegal).
:idea: Crest password system not responding.
:idea: You can select dwarf on the race screen. Don't do this - odd stuff will happen.
- If you do have one, make sure you delete it before the next patch, or your game may become unloadable then.
:idea: First client side arrow fired on each map may drop limply to the floor, like a disgusting wet sausage.*
- But hits should register consistently now.
:arrow: Shields sometimes stuck in block-mode when stored.
:oldangry: Two people with the same name can cause chat lag*
:oldangry: Being stunned while reloading sxbow seems to cause infinite reload loop*
- Re-equipping or redrawing (if hotkeyed) should fix.
:idea: Horror eggs crashing Cleicert/ms_wicardoven (cannot reproduce)*
:idea: Bear Gods crashing on death (cannot reproduce)*
:oldangry: Occasionally weapons will do <1 damage.*
:idea: Ice bow still doesn't properly give its cold resistance the first time you draw it in a map.*
:idea: Felewyn Shard's Holy Wave healing pets but not players?
:idea: "All vanish" command vanishing items.
:idea: Healing/ice shielding still not granting dmgpoints proper, despite HUD report indicating otherwise.
:idea: XP "spin up over time" system not working properly.
:?: Spideraxe, spideraxe, not doing whatever a spideraxe does.
:arrow: Chaos Axe's second melee charge not applying element/DOT.
:idea: Hoarfrost Ice Circle (and perhaps other weapons) not providing spellcasting XP.
:idea: Crescent and Blood Blade blocks not sustaining with matched set.
:arrow: sorc_villa achievement still not upgrading
:idea: msarea_transition_local spams message, if it has no teleport destination.
:idea: msmonster_random's that choose a spawn that fails its requirements cannot be reactivated.
- Hoping to re-rig this so it'll cycle through all its spawns, starting with the one it first chose, before it gives up, then is freed up for future activation.
:idea: qitem_barrel eats more qitems than required to activate it.
- Next patch, barrel will only take however many of the quest item it requires to fill once.
:arrow: Demon bludgeon rage not ending proper on being sheathed.
:idea: Multiple players attempting to access a shop NPC at the same time will sometimes break the shop.
:idea: Blood blade charge does straight damage instead of dark.
:arrow: Shender East: Frost Giant occasionally falls into pit, making him difficult to attack.

Aesthetic
:arrow: Elemental resistance updates sometimes fail to report to event HUD.*
:arrow: Smaller inventory icon inconsistencies.*
- Fixed some, still moar though.
:arrow: Various newer music not having the right time definitions, and thus and prematurely looping, or taking a long time to loop*
:idea: Holy DOT reporting resistances wrong
:arrow: If you are sitting when you die, your 'standing' camera height changes to the sitting height. (This effect stacks.)*
:idea: Soup viewmodel using wrong animations.

* Persisting from FEB2015d

Ancient/Perpetual Bugs
- Lights/sprites not going away / sticking to other objects (Sticky client-side effects)
- Occasionally a weapon/spell will stop doing damage until it is unequipped then re-equipped.
- Can't use charge attack in laggy conditions. (Work around: use +special or +uber or ms_autocharge 1)
- Sitting animation bugs (sometimes saves to character for awhile)
- All water sometimes goes white (texture stretch bug, restart)
- Lack of level up sfx for Polearms (for some players)
- Typing issues in chat. Especially with European keyboards.
- Various Health/mana indicator madness (see also yonder)
- Small sack holds stuff it should not.
- Double attack bug, most prominent with xbows
- Some p_models vanishing into floor (report em though, still hunting)
- Periodic texture scramble issues
- You cannot use NPC/GM/menus/chests when inventory is full (not a bug, insomuch a necessary limitation, at the moment.)
- You can interact with the character select screen, inventory, and other menus while you are in the main menu(escape) despite not being able to see them.

Also Not liable to go away soon:
- Jumping from server to server without closing may corrupt characters
(solution: ALWAYS close MSC before joining or creating a new server!)
- Some monsters still capable of some acts while frozen (jumping, etc.)
- Orion Bow jamming sometimes, (I've no idea how to fix this without dropping the whole charged weapon concept.)
- Spawning a largely full Galat chest on a busy server may lead to server crash when withdrawing items
- Some players report additive render weapons not rendering so in first person, or otherwise rendering incorrectly (Felewyn Shard, Hoarfrost Blade, GIB, etc.)
- Similarly, some mixed-rendered monsters may not render their additive bits on some systems.
- Using changelevel instead of votemap or admin_map may cause various texture issues.
- ms_soccer cameras are hard to get out of if you move the mouse while using them

Resolved from FEB2015d:
- HLDS server failing to close on game's request, under certain circumstances
- "every other arrow" failing to register hits.
- Deraliaswers: mbossdest needs multiple destinations
- b_castle: bodyguard_room needs multiple destinations
- Dragooncaves teleporter needs multiple destinations
- Lightning Forged Skeleton needs a new scan check sequence
- Applyeffect cooldowns seem to be jamming up from time to time
- Orc Poisoner casting stunning poison clouds on targets he cannot see
- Golden axe repair quest crashing server
- Throwing unholy blade with pvp on results in you hitting yourself
- Forsuth shortcutting to the wrong teleport point after elevator, and sometimes not using teleport-catchup system.
- Despite claims in changelog, Felewyn Shard is using new model. Otherwise, all should work as described.
- Some dwarves in Gatecity are using lanterns who probably shouldn't.
- Self-Adjusting treasure chests fubaring naming convention
- 5hp Character Wipe Bug (hopefully)
- Shield generated lag (hopefully)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Jonzay

New Adventurer
Shadows of Torkalath
Mar 22, 2011
44
0
Ice bow still doesn't properly give its cold resistance the first time you draw it in a map. All subsequent draws work properly until map change.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #4

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost
Jonzay said:
Ice bow still doesn't properly give its cold resistance the first time you draw it in a map. All subsequent draws work properly until map change.
Yeah, I couldn't figure that one out - I'll stick it on the list to remind me to hack at it more.

Lucifer Majiskus said:
Undercliffs hard crashed during boss fight (with all 3 bosses present).

This was after many overflows :?
This... Not exactly a surprise. Be rather complicated for Oyster to figure a way to spool out the bosses and keep his artistic integrity, I'm sure.

Oyster has a bad habit of assuming his players have some psychic ability to determine how his maps work without him illustrating each point, so yeah, you could do this on accident. Even it's unlikely, there's nothing to prevent it, and the server isn't likely to survive it.

I'd do the global monster suspend we did with the Abyssal Worm, but there's escorts involved. Plus these bosses spawn while you are no where near them - and you're lucky to even find them, so it's a good way to end up with a confusingly empty map.
 

Rok

New Adventurer
Nov 23, 2015
3
0
I'm getting loads of unhandled exception errors at the new map undercliffs, mostly while trying to cast spells. Most of the time it prevents me from casting spells until I kill myself. It randomly appears while at the spider boss too, making it annoying as hell to kill.

Other than that, fun map. I must know what the crystals and egg hunting will achieve! damn dwarves don't tell me anything useful
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #6

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost
Other than sheer server load, I can't think anything that'd cause that on that specific map. Is it doing this every time? It maybe just goo in memory from a previous map.

Oyster went into epileptic fits optimizing this thing. Granted, there's been several revisions since I last went through and checked the monster count, so maybe something broke. It's still possible to get a lot of active mobs if the party splits every which way, but not nearly as bad as when it first came across my desk and made MSC cry its eyes out.
 

Lucifer Majiskus

Adventurer
Sons of Babel
Mar 9, 2009
1,149
15
22
An igloo far up North.
zeus9860 said:
Well, i get memory errors (out of memory, couldn't allocate new block) whenever i connect to a server, no matter what map its on or the server itself. Also i do believe this error is stopping me from selecting any character. So yeah, ms:c is even more broken now than it was before, oh well.

I can hit the delete option but can't seem to pick any character at all as they are gone on my screen (names are there though).
I tried putting some items away in my chest and it seemed to help with this
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost
*sigh* That's the sorta bug that gets us B patches. Looking into it.

I had to rebuild the gauntlet system to accommodate Oyster's demands that his maps be hidden away. May have broke some other transitions too - plz test.

edit: Though, looking at it, I don't see why it'd be broken:
Code:
		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS highlands_msc
		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS_TYPES "series;lowlands;Curse of the Bear Gods"
		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS_CONNECTORS "lostcastle_msc;lowlands"

		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS lostcastle_msc
		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS_TYPES "series;lowlands;Curse of the Bear Gods"
		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS_CONNECTORS "highlands_msc;skycastle;orcplace2_beta"

		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS skycastle
		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS_TYPES "series;lowlands;Curse of the Bear Gods"
		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS_CONNECTORS "lostcastle_msc"

		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS orcplace2_beta
		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS_TYPES "series;lowlands;Curse of the Bear Gods"
		g_array.add G_ARRAY_RMAPS_CONNECTORS "lostcastle_msc"
I can at least duplicate it - no idea why it's happening though, everything checks out. :(

(Think it's about the only one I didn't test, since getting through lostcastle_msc is a bit of a pain, even with dev commands.)

edit2: Alright, got it... Wasn't converting case somewhere. Might be worth a server patch, but will wait a bit to see if something else critical comes up (plus I'll be busy next few days).
 

Hush

Adventurer
Developer
Sep 14, 2004
106
8
Thothie said:
Mouse wheel now scrolls on inventory/chest/shop UI screens
Somehow this doesn't work for me. Maybe because I bound my mouse wheel for cycling through weapons/spells, but after unbounding it, it still doesn't work. Is there something i need to change in my config.txt now?

One other little thing, only a soup-addicted person like me may notice: The viewmodel for the soup bowl seems to be a little displaced.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost
Not absolutely sure how MiB did it, but I suspect the binds need to be as follows:
Code:
bind "MWHEELDOWN" "hud_scroll down"
bind "MWHEELUP" "hud_scroll up"
Even then, I'm noticing it isn't always working on chests (maybe a focus issue). Seems consistent for my character's inventory though. Mouse drivers may screw with it too, I suppose (some try to auto focus and the like).

...and I worked hard on that soup model! :oldcry: Granted, viewmodels get skewed a bit depending on aspect ratio and such too... Also, I probably should stop testing with a female character, though I dun think it'd make a difference in this case. (Unlike, say, where fire breath comes out.)

But yeah, I r not a good modeler - I often wind up just "in the ballpark", and hope one of our real modeler's with an eye for minuta will fix it. The Phlame's staff animations are rather exemplary of that.

It's particularly painful when you can see how it actually works:
soup_sekrat.gif

...and sometimes I just dunno wtf is happening...

skinny_finger.giffat_finger.gif

Like how the Phlame's Staff off hand finger looks fine from every other angle, but from the view angle, it goes Gaben on me.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost
Lucifer Majiskus said:
Holy wave does not heal players, only summons/pets.
Already in the list... Working on it, though I'm not sure if my solution is gonna work. It may end up only healing players with PVP on. >< If it doesn't work, I'll have to maybe have the Game Master handle the damage scan or something. Dunno.

Lucifer Majiskus said:
Also, healing circle got nerfed? :oldcry:
Should heal the same. You can stack them now, and can stack them with other circle types, but it wont increase the effect, as they flag a cooldown on you. Should be the same... Unless, of course, you pulled some exploit where you were managing to stack them for extra effect before... Some of the efforts to prevent that were causing issues and load.

Speaking of Phlame's big stick... The pending replacement model:

phlames_new.png

Wish I could do something about this texture.

This set of four wands is all under one 512x512 texture block, which, while clever, makes the texture suffer. The section of said that belongs to this staff is about 320x200. Goldsrc models puke if you use any texture larger than 512, so I can't double the size and smooth it out some to make it look better. Hrmm.... Dunno if some modeler might have some UV mapping skills to fix this. Might just be the price we pay for "OC".
 

Jordy

New Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
The True Followers of the Lost
Mar 3, 2008
78
0
25
Lucifer Majiskus said:
zeus9860 said:
Well, i get memory errors (out of memory, couldn't allocate new block) whenever i connect to a server, no matter what map its on or the server itself. Also i do believe this error is stopping me from selecting any character. So yeah, ms:c is even more broken now than it was before, oh well.

I can hit the delete option but can't seem to pick any character at all as they are gone on my screen (names are there though).
This happens to me
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost
Jordy said:
Lucifer Majiskus said:
zeus9860 said:
Well, i get memory errors (out of memory, couldn't allocate new block) whenever i connect to a server, no matter what map its on or the server itself. Also i do believe this error is stopping me from selecting any character. So yeah, ms:c is even more broken now than it was before, oh well.

I can hit the delete option but can't seem to pick any character at all as they are gone on my screen (names are there though).
This happens to me
zeus9860 Edits said:
Nvm, my mistake.
Zeus did something that fixed this, apparently, but neglected to post it. (Might be something silly like not patched proper, IDK.)

Doubt I can duplicate, but I can try copying your FN characters to one of mine and see what happens, if you provide Steam ID.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost
Also, if you've discovered we accidentally let the WIP player dwarves slip in... Don't make one. If you already did, be sure to delete it before the next patch, or your game probably will stop loading at the char select screen come next patch. (And there will probably be a "B" patch sometime after Thanksgiving.)

They are set to an invalid race, so they don't agro proper, but will also have a host of other issues, in addition to otherwise being, basically, just a human with a dwarf model.

><
 

zeus9860

Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
Crusaders
The True Followers of the Lost
Feb 28, 2008
2,523
10
27
lolwut
Yeah... i downloaded the full installer and installed it by mistake. Which caused the issue. :roll: If he has the same problem, then he probably lacks the new patch or it wasn't properly installed.

Also, reason as to why i messed up was because i downloaded 3 files (patch - installer - patch), patch files were being considered as a high risk threat in my computer, which is something new that never happened before. Installer had no threats though. The files are safe, just don't know why my computer freaked out about it.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost
Any uncommon executable gets flagged as a "high risk" these days, dunno of any way around that. *sigh*
 

MS:C community

Active Adventurer
Jul 7, 2011
396
41
If you drop an item on the floor, and then type "all vanish" (a command that should work for summons only), the item instantly vanishes. The regular "vanish" command doesn't do this. I... kind of lost my phoenix armor in finding this out :(

Lodestone spiders in undercliffs do knockback lightning d.o.t.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Developer
Apr 8, 2005
15,494
139
lost
For all the exploiters begging for a rollback and clogging up servers without actually playing:

The amount of damage points you have only affects gold and which priority you have to get the item. You're just as likely to get an item if you only have 1 damage point as you are with a million, provided no one else has more.

...and yes, I'll rollback all your characters, not just the alt you are using to exploit with.

Game's unstable enough without that going on, and the particular method you are using stacks strings onto the server over time, and adds to stability issues, for much the same reason attacking a boss causes more stability issues than attacking some random vermin, even when the boss script is much simpler.
 

MS:C community

Active Adventurer
Jul 7, 2011
396
41
Thothie said:
You're just as likely to get an item if you only have 1 damage point as you are with a million, provided no one else has more.
This doesn't apply to artifact chests, correct?
 
Top