Bug Reports NOV2011a

Status
Not open for further replies.
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #1

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
:arrow: = Working on it, :?: = wtf/unconfirmed, :idea: = fixed next release

Known issues

:?: Starting an HLDS or listenserver with the -num_edicts flag may lead to crashes on some maps.
- 1500 *maybe* a safe range...

Minor
:idea: Bloodshrine Sorcs not finding qualifying players proper (failing to divide by #players)
:idea: Bloodshrine secret gold bags self-deleting
:arrow: Teleport entrance to mummy chamber on Deraliasewers is too close to ground
- maybe - no new report on this, and not had time to check
:?: Edana Mayor's quest still screwy (maybe)
:?: Votepvp dysfunctional (maybe, keep forgetting to check it out)
:idea: Great Lava Boars occasionally burning targets no where near them
:idea: Bloodshrine not in disconnected map list

Aesthetic
:?: Changing map while a status icon is active causes said status icon to become permanently "stuck"
:?: Texture scrambling issues when playing for a period of time
:?: Some players report additive render weapons not rendering so in first person, or otherwise rendering incorrectly (Felewyn Shard, Hoarfrost Blade, GIB, etc.)
:?: Disconnecting while dead results in invisible body and armor on reconnect.
:?: Using changelevel instead of votemap or admin_map may cause various texture issues.
:arrow: Some p_models vanishing into floor
:?: Lack of level up sfx for Polearms (for some players)

Ancient/Perpetual
Known Ancient bugs:
- No Free Edict Errors (ED_Alloc:no free edicts), usually the result of overloading the server in one way or another. You can *try* hosting with the -num_edicts flag, however, this may prevent some maps from loading. We're constantly working to mitigate this bug.
- All entities invisible bug (type kill in console to cure).
- Lights/sprites not going away / sticking to other objects (Sticky client-side effects)
- Occasionally a weapon/spell will stop doing damage until it is unequipped then re-equipped.
- Can't use charge attack in laggy conditions. (Work around: use +special or +uber)
- Sitting animation bugs (sometimes saves to character for awhile)
- All water sometimes goes white (texture stretch bug, restart)
- Typing issues in chat. Especially with European keyboards.
- Various Health/mana indicator madness (see also yonder)
- Small sack holds stuff it should not.
- Ticket Bank freaks if you have more than one of the ticket or item you are trying to trade
--> Galat chest does not have this issue.
- Double attack bug, most prominant with xbows
- All tomahawks appear as fire tomahawks in third person
- Heavy/Light Crossbow jamming when firing
- You cannot use NPC/GM/menus/chests when inventory is full (not a bug, insomuch a necessary limitation, at the moment.)

Also Not liable to go away soon:
- Jumping from server to server without closing |MSC screws with FN functionality
(solution: ALWAYS close MSC before joining or creating a new server!)
- Some monsters still capable of some acts while frozen (jumping, etc.)
- Orion Bow jamming sometimes, (I've no idea how to fix this without dropping the whole charged weapon concept.)
- Can't push monsters while under the effect of leadfoot potion

Resolved from JUN2011a:
- Couple of items in Phlame's chest cost cash to remove
- Phlame's Blacksmith Chest not distributing gold
- Teleporter madness
- Various exploits
- Various chests/bank issues (including reports when inventory full)
 

Slash

New Adventurer
The Dragonknights
Feb 7, 2011
62
0
If you change map while you have an ice shield going, the timer logo thing will be stuck at full in the top left corner. If you do another ice shield, it'll make a new one below the old one, so 2 on screen.

goes away when ya die tho
 

jon50559

Adventurer
RiP
Crusaders
The True Followers of the Lost
MSR Developer
Mar 6, 2010
640
11
26
U S A
BUG: Melanion Ruins still isn't in the f*cking game!!! (D=!!)
I'll finish it up really soon and hand it off I promise haha
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #5

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Caluminium said:
http://i.imgur.com/1kRPg.png
http://i.imgur.com/KU26t.png
Bludgeons can jump up to unclipped areas and get stuck for a moment.
Blarg, surprised that never came up in testing... Meh, at least you can still kill them and get around it. I never understood why the sky brush was that high though, and I really shoulda fixed it while I was there.


Slash said:
If you change map while you have an ice shield going, the timer logo thing will be stuck at full in the top left corner. If you do another ice shield, it'll make a new one below the old one, so 2 on screen.

goes away when ya die tho
Added - should be easy enough to fix. It's kinda amazing how much the client actually keeps between map changes though - part of what causes the texture bugs.
 

Fegged

New Adventurer
The Dragonknights
Aug 12, 2010
527
0
23
Patch is pretty unstable of what i have seen sofar

Tundra:pretty often crashed (p_models3.mdl error,random hl.exe error,kick due to player amount)

after that we went to bloodshrine and i couldn't even get in, before the char select i get the random hl.exe error

On NON-FN i didn't had these problems
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #7

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Meh... There's a major bugger up with the Bloodshrine Sorcs declaring, "I would reward you, but I find your performance as a warrior, wanting." as result of not dividing averages. Fixed next patch.

Sucks, even I woulda qualified that last run, and it woulda made up for the 10 times I died. >_>
 

Caluminium

Adventurer
Shadows of Torkalath
Alpha Tester
Feb 16, 2010
483
7
23
Steam Crossbow's can still vanish from inventory
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Not a fucking clue.

Rideon said:
Patch is pretty unstable of what i have seen sofar

Tundra:pretty often crashed (p_models3.mdl error,random hl.exe error,kick due to player amount)

after that we went to bloodshrine and i couldn't even get in, before the char select i get the random hl.exe error

On NON-FN i didn't had these problems
Been more stable than usual for me (completed two 8 player games of Bloodshrine, with both players and monsters constantly spamming near every spell imaginable), but one thing that might be affecting free resources, is the changes to the liblist.gam - as we increased the default client edicts to 1500. It should actually make the game *more* stable, when connecting to servers using the num_edict flag. You can try removing the line: commandargs "-num_edicts 1500" from it and see if it helps you at all.

Only reason non-FN might be more stable than an FN server, though, is fewer players.

I've also yet to get a texture scramble bug this month, which is odd - wonder if something changed on the engine updates side. I did notice they fixed the Steam service report bug on the HLDS. They've been tweaking a lot of stuff on that side of things lately - which always scares me - but, occasionally, they actually fix things.
 

Fegged

New Adventurer
The Dragonknights
Aug 12, 2010
527
0
23
typo >.< HXfBw.png
when he says that part

€dit: but somethings wrong about this, i just don't know what
Jevl8.png
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Drat... Guess I've just been lucky.

Someone was spamming sprays everywhere, but they weren't coming out right - dunno if that's what he was trying to show me - or if it's my client's spray cache.

Reminds me... Keep meaning to work Triad and other MSC lore symbols into the default spray list.
 

Lucifer Majiskus

Active Adventurer
Sons of Babel
Alpha Tester
Mar 9, 2009
1,230
38
23
An igloo far up North.
Not really a bug to do with gameplay at all, but today I updated my ATI Radeon graphics card driver to 11.10 so I could play BF3. I was having an issue where I couldn't even launch the game, and now that I -have- updated, MS:C now has the problem. When I go to launch MS:C, it shows the background fine, then it freezes for a second, my graphics card cuts out, turns black, then the screen turns white and tells me to "Wait for the program to respond" or "Close the program." Just thought this might be good to know, for future reference.
 

miko2386

New Adventurer
Mar 14, 2009
85
0
In phlames boss fight, if u died, u cant reach the boss room again since the box blocked the way to fire orges after the boss fight starts.
 

Caluminium

Adventurer
Shadows of Torkalath
Alpha Tester
Feb 16, 2010
483
7
23
I recommend taking that box out altogether, it's pointless (what is it blocking anyways?)
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Think it's there to force you to fight the skeles and blacksmith, before moving onto the ogres.

No idea where it's getting set off twice in order to re-appear though. Maybe flip it to a breakable - doesn't matter if you target a breakable twice, as unlike a func_wall_toggle, it ain't there to be triggered no more. (Come to think of it - why is it a func_wall_toggle?)

Wait... This is your map... Why are you asking questions? ;)
 

Caluminium

Adventurer
Shadows of Torkalath
Alpha Tester
Feb 16, 2010
483
7
23
Thothie said:
Think it's there to force you to fight the skeles and blacksmith, before moving onto the ogres.
I'm sure there is already a func_breakable wall above the boxes which do that

Thothie said:
Wait... This is your map... Why are you asking questions? ;)
Indeed, but you're the one who added that sliding box 8) (I think your original intention was to stop players going around the reaver portal, which I moved in front of the gate anyway :oldlol:)
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
I did? :\

(Me notices entity name follows my usual convention...)

I did.

Now WTF did I do that? :\

It seems to be tied to the reaver spawn somehow, but... Maybe I was thinking it was too sploity to drag the reavers back to that area - but neglected to undo it when I added the teleporter+gate fix. ...or... Something... :oops:

Doesn't that door crack open once the ogres are dead though? Meh...

BTW:
Code:
Object names    Objects/Maxobjs      Memory / Maxmem    Fullnes
------------  -------------------  -------------------  -------
models              114/512             7296/32768      (22.3)
planes             5711/32767         114220/655340     (17.4)
vertexes          10085/65535         121020/786420     (15.4)
nodes              4577/32767         109848/786408     (14.0)
texinfos           1195/32767          47800/1310680    ( 3.6)
faces              7144/65535         142880/1310700    (10.9)
clipnodes          9790/32767          78320/262136     (29.9)
leaves             3136/32767          87808/917476     ( 9.6)
marksurfaces      10771/65535          21542/131070     (16.4)
surfedges         32940/1048575       131760/4194300    ( 3.1)
edges             17938/524287         71752/2097148    ( 3.4)
texdata            [variable]        4208420/33554432   (12.5)
lightdata          [variable]        1625385/33554432   ( 4.8)
visdata            [variable]          57538/16777216   ( 0.3)
entdata            [variable]          58963/16777216   ( 0.4)
That's just beautiful... Probably a very good thing for stability, given the amount of entity spam involved in the beasties.
 

zeus9860

Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
Crusaders
The True Followers of the Lost
Alpha Tester
Feb 28, 2008
2,549
18
27
lolwut
Actually, the door breaks when the ogres get close to it i think... i usually let the fire ones use the flamethrower ability once, to break the door. It's either a npc approach or damage that breaks the door, this is my guess.
 

miko2386

New Adventurer
Mar 14, 2009
85
0
oh. i didn't notice that the door have to break by the orges and this cause there have no way to the boss room.

EDIT: lodagond-4 seems glitched again.After slain all the fragments of maldora, the door to boss room stucks and i can hear the sound of door opening.
EDIT 2nd: the door opens after i reconnect. How is this happening?
 

Aische

New Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
Nov 16, 2006
97
0
35
ger
had two loda 4 crashes today both at yellow only thing i can think of was that so cast a hc touching the skeleton spawn
nearest to the door and crystal
 

Hakariaki

New Adventurer
The Dragonknights
Jul 24, 2009
156
0
30
I have runned lodagond 4 or 5 times on this patch and have no crash/glitch issues at all.
Maybe bad luck?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top