Bug Reports FEB2011a

Status
Not open for further replies.
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #1

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
:arrow: = Working on it, :?: = wtf/unconfirmed, :idea: = fixed next release

Known issues

:?: Starting an HLDS or listenserver with the -num_edicts flag may lead to crashes on some maps.

Minor
:arrow: Mayor letter not appearing in chest
:arrow: Some bolts/arrows refusing to stack
- Make sure Quiver is first container in inventory (after player hands)
:arrow: Various Zorc behavior/name issues in mscave
:arrow: Bloodrose elemental triggers being finicky about what spells/weapons will activate them
:?: Oceancrossing cannon still fubar
:idea: Still no tomes for Ice Bolt nor Rebuke Undead
:arrow: Can advanced to next section without killing Mummy Warlord in Catacombs
:arrow: Some monsters lacking XP (some boars, firegiantghouls - please report others)

Aesthetic
:?: Texture scrambling issues when playing for a period of time
:?: Some player's report additive render weapons not rendering so in first person, or otherwise rendering incorrectly (Felewyn Shard, Hoarfrost Blade, GIB, etc.)
:?: Disconnecting while dead results in invisible body and armor on reconnect.
:?: Using changelevel instead of votemap or admin_map may cause various texture issues.
:idea: Fangtooth tome misnamed scroll
:arrow: Some bad inventory icon assignments
:arrow: Dragon Axe fire breathing alignment
:arrow: Some p_models vanishing into floor
:idea: Jade and Emerald are only the same color to straight men
:?: Lack of level up sfx for Polearms (for some players)
:idea: ms_lildude having wrong gender on female characters
:idea: Incorrectly skinned chests on Bloodrose

Ancient/Perpetual
Known Ancient bugs:
- No Free Edict Errors (ED_Alloc:no free edicts), usually the result of overloading the server in one way or another. You can *try* hosting with the -num_edicts flag, however, this may prevent some maps from loading. We're constantly working to mitigate this bug.
- All entities invisible bug (type kill in console to cure).
- Lights/sprites not going away / sticking to other objects (Sticky client-side effects)
- Occasionally a weapon/spell will stop doing damage until it is unequipped then re-equipped.
- Can't use charge attack in laggy conditions. (Work around: use +special or +uber)
- Sitting animation bugs (sometimes saves to character for awhile)
- All water sometimes goes white (texture stretch bug, restart)
- Typing issues in chat. Especially with European keyboards.
- Various Health/mana indicator madness (see also yonder)
- Small sack holds stuff it should not.
- Ticket Bank freaks if you have more than one of the ticket or item you are trying to trade
--> Galat chest does not have this issue.
- Double attack bug, most prominant with xbows
- All tomahawks appear as fire tomahawks in third person

Also Not liable to go away soon:
- Some monsters still capable of some acts while frozen (jumping, etc.)
- Orion Bow jamming sometimes, (I've no idea how to fix this without dropping the whole charged weapon concept.)
- Jumping from server to server without closing HL screws with FN functionality (solution: Close half-life before joining another game.)
- Can't push monsters while under the effect of leadfoot potion

Resolved from DEC2010a:
- ms_bloom_level cvar not sticking
- Various Lodagond-4 crashes
- demontemple needs moar spawns
- Pets deleting on completion of sorc_villa
- eagles DOT doing push (fairly old lack-of-flag issue)
- Pharaoh lance leaving creatures immune to stun afterwards
- Still snowing in Edana after December. :\
- When first created, new characters are invisible on char selection screen.
- Both character models are invisible on the gender selection screen.
- Bloom is blinding! (Tap "b")
- Weather sticking between maps, if next map has no weather defined
- Various lance and hold person cage issues
 

SilentDeath

New Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
Alpha Tester
May 16, 2006
264
0
34
California
The letter is still not spawning on edana's mayor quest.

Also I couldn't get my bolts to stack opened my quiver a bunch of times moved the bolts around even dropped the quiver and picked it up and they did not stack at all.

Also parry still affects title changing you into an Adventurer when you pull out weapons.
 

miko2386

New Adventurer
Mar 14, 2009
85
0
About the new icons at inventory
Felewyn shard II III IV V still using the old icons
 

J-M v2.5.5

BANNED
BANNED
Feb 26, 2005
5,677
1
31
Nijmegen, the Netherlands.
Some bug reports:

Fangtooth scroll is called "Fangtooth Scroll"
Fangtooth tome is called "Fangtooth Summoning Scroll"

Thothie said:
All spells have tomes now - though some can be a bit hard to find still
I have reason to believe that frostbolt tomes and rebuke undead tomes do not exist. Could you please double-check this?

Blackhand archer zombies in mscave (which appear when fighting Shadahar) barely move. They only seem to move to get you in their sight, but as soon as they can see you, they just keep staring at you. They don't approach you or anything. They do attack with their fists if you get close, though.

The zombified Orc brawler is still called "Orcish Brawler Zombie Zombie". I can confirm that you fixed the skin and the rediculous amount of HP, though.

Dragon axe flames still originate above the player's head.

You can't push monsters around after drinking a leadfoot potion.

Torkalath bows still don't trigger the elemental crystals in Bloodrose.

Felewyn shard / elec. ring world models are still centered below the ground.

The regular ice blade still looks like a LIB blade with GIB handle.

The cannon in oceancrossing still overshoots the target.

Wild Boars and Greater Undead Firegiants don't give XP.

Projectiles from Torkalath shadowarchers have knockback.

The Emerald Key (key_green) is identified as a "jade key" by the Jade Keyhole. This is actually an ancient bug, but it has always confused the hell out of me. Could you turn all the names into either emerald or jade, please?

And some erroneous icons:
Code:
regular ice blade icon		 = skullblade
dark sword icon			     = skullblade
Felewyn shard II icon		  = longsword
Felewyn shard III icon		 = longsword
Felewyn shard IV icon	 	 = longsword
Felewyn shard V icon	 	  = longsword
stiletto icon		       	= fang tooth
fang tooth icon		     	= royal dagger
Kharaztorant fire blade icon = small dagger
axe icon		            	= two-handed axe
unbreakable golden axe icon  = unused old golden axe (skin)
odd mace icon			       = mace
heavy hammer icon		      = maul
war hammer icon		     	= maul
spear icon			          = ...???
harpoon icon	         	  = spear
tree bow icon		       	= short bow
short bow icon		      	= tree bow
Orcish bow icon		     	= tree bow
crossbow icon	       		= non-existant crossbow model
hide armor icon		     	= unused ancient leather vest model
full knight's armor icon  	= platemail armor
acid plate icon			     = envenomed plate
envenomed plate icon	   	= knight's armor
training shield icon		   = iron shield
The litch tongue is called "LiTch Tongue" (why must you troll Sogak so much).
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #6

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
J-M v2.5.5 said:
I have reason to believe that frostbolt tomes and rebuke undead tomes do not exist. Could you please double-check this?
Will examine and report back.

J-M v2.5.5 said:
Blackhand archer zombies in mscave (which appear when fighting Shadahar) barely move. They only seem to move to get you in their sight, but as soon as they can see you, they just keep staring at you. They don't approach you or anything. They do attack with their fists if you get close, though.
I think I'd originally been thinking that zombies were too brain dead to be archers - but later went "what the hell" and chalked it up to years of building archer nerve reflexes. ;) The mscave zorc archers are likely built under the older philosophy and aren't adjusting their attack range so they close into melee reach. Will endeavor to fix.

J-M v2.5.5 said:
The zombified Orc brawler is still called "Orcish Brawler Zombie Zombie". I can confirm that you fixed the skin and the rediculous amount of HP, though.
Dunno whaddup with that... I'll have to look at the map - maybe he's placed there when shad spawns, rather than converted, and has a custom name causing conflict with the conversion process - I dun think so though.

J-M v2.5.5 said:
Dragon axe flames still originate above the player's head.
Shall examine.

J-M v2.5.5 said:
You can't push monsters around after drinking a leadfoot potion.
I've given up on fixing this. It's something about the weapon<->owner relationship and nopush.

J-M v2.5.5 said:
Torkalath bows still don't trigger the elemental crystals in Bloodrose.
Would require complete reworking of elemental trigger system, and possibly a map recompile a well - and the source for Bloodrose is a bit iffy due to malforms.

J-M v2.5.5 said:
Felewyn shard / elec. ring world models are still centered below the ground.
Most likely p_model issues.

J-M v2.5.5 said:
The regular ice blade still looks like a GIB blade with LIB handle.
Thought this was as intended. :\

J-M v2.5.5 said:
Wild Boars and Greater Undead Firegiants don't give XP.
Jeeze, wtf - I think the last time I messed with those scripts you weren't a legal adult. ><

J-M v2.5.5 said:
Projectiles from Torkalath shadowarchers have knockback.
At 5,000hp, they're just better at it than you are. ;) (Plus overhead/sploit issues...)

J-M v2.5.5 said:
The Emerald Key (key_green) is identified as a "jade key" by the Jade Keyhole. This is actually an ancient bug, but it has always confused the hell out of me. Could you turn all the names into either emerald or jade, please?
Picky, picky... Will endeavor to fix.

Code:
 regular ice blade icon       = skullblade
dark sword icon              = skullblade
Felewyn shard II icon        = longsword
Felewyn shard III icon       = longsword
Felewyn shard IV icon        = longsword
Felewyn shard V icon         = longsword
stiletto icon                = fang tooth icon
fang tooth icon              = royal dagger
Kharaztorant fire blade icon = small dagger icon
axe icon                     = two-handed axe
unbreakable golden axe icon  = unused old golden axe (skin)
odd mace icon                = mace
heavy hammer icon            = maul
war hammer icon              = maul
spear icon                   = ...???
harpoon icon                 = spear
tree bow icon                = short bow
short bow icon               = tree bow
Orcish bow icon              = tree bow
crossbow icon                = non-existant crossbow model
hide armor icon              = unused ancient leather vest model
full knight's armor icon     = platemail armor
acid plate icon              = envenomed plate
envenomed plate icon         = knight's armor
training shield icon         = iron shield
Thanx - need these reports... In the case of the UGA, that is as it should be, but I don't think the UGA has the viewmodel to demonstrate the difference - not sure if the p_model is differing properly, will have to examine. In a few cases, we do not have proper new icons.

Hakariaki said:
oceancrossing cannon is still glitched

Gods, effing, damnit... Works fine at home. >< I'm beginning to wonder if I did something to my client's oceancrossing that fixed it, and didn't port it to the betapack. :/
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #7

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Thothie said:
J-M v2.5.5 said:
I have reason to believe that frostbolt tomes and rebuke undead tomes do not exist. Could you please double-check this?
Will examine and report back.
Jes indeed, we missed those. :\ Fixed next patch.
 

J-M v2.5.5

BANNED
BANNED
Feb 26, 2005
5,677
1
31
Nijmegen, the Netherlands.
There's a funky missing texture in lodagond-4 on the fire pillar thingies (not related to the infamous 'texture bug'; this thing always shows up): clicky

Thothie said:
J-M v2.5.5 said:
The regular ice blade still looks like a LIB blade with GIB handle.
Thought this was as intended. :\
I thought the ice blade was supposed to look like this...?

Thothie said:
In a few cases, we do not have proper new icons.
Do you have a list?
 
  • Thread starter
  • Admin
  • #9

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
J-M v2.5.5 said:
There's a funky missing texture in lodagond-4 on the fire pillar thingies (not related to the infamous 'texture bug'; this thing always shows up): clicky
Hrmm... Musta not had all textures loaded when I compiled it. :\

J-M v2.5.5 said:
I thought the ice blade was supposed to look like this...?
No, that's the older re-textured skull blade.

J-M v2.5.5 said:
Thothie said:
In a few cases, we do not have proper new icons.
Do you have a list?
Eh, no, not really - you'll have to call em as you spot em. There's hundreds of items and nearly 200 sprites, plus some use a name while others use an index, making it even harder to check. :\ You can use sprite explorer to check the inventory sprite out (msc/sprites/items/640_allitems.spr) - damn thing has nearly 200 frames (though some are obsolete/redundant).
 

lvb2555

New Adventurer
Jan 21, 2008
48
2
35
Not just the wild boars, also the Albino Boars in smugglers_cove don't award exp, I haven't checked any of the other boar-types elsewhere yet, but it might extend to the ms_snow/nightmare_thornlands boars (since I have the strange suspicion the snow boars and albino boars are ....similar >_>)

And please, for all that is good and holy, remove the flashing lights in the lesser hollow one battle in catacombs. Headache and slight nausea for that entire battle it too high a price to pay, even for all those delicious chests at the end.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Yeah, I think I see what that is... Messed with the time that a post spawn event goes off in the base AI for optimization, and a few older convention scripts were apparently setting their XP there. Fixed on the boars and fire giants - maybe on some spiders too - give me a heads up if you run into anything else with the same issue.
 

Keldorn

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Mar 12, 2009
531
0
31
New York, NY
For some reason the Fire Crystal in Bloodrose spawned with invulnerability today.

Both Dark and Fire attacks and everything else did not do anything to it, no hit roll, no damage shown, no glow.


This left the map impossible to finish.
 

Joker

New Adventurer
Feb 8, 2011
2
0
I tried the bloodstone ring quest and it is broken. Since I do not have high post count I would think you would think that I am just doing it wrong. Which would make sense. So I decided to post a picture of the chest that the criminal evidence is suppose to spawn in with the text in the back that shows that the mayor has said that the letter is in the chest. If I am out of line for posting a picture I am sorry. I just thought that if I put that the bloodstone ring quest isn't working. You would think that I am stuck at the part where the mayor calls the guard. So I am posting a screenshot along with this post so that you can see what the mayor has said.
TL;DR
Bloodstone ring quest is broken. Here is a Screenshot.
mscbloodstone2.png
Click to make the image bigger.
 

CrazyMonkeyDude

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
RiP
Jun 29, 2007
2,620
2
30
Snow Wolf / RaZoR said:
Bolts/Arrows don't stack :(
Thothie in betapack update said:
• Changes to Ammo Stacking System
- Ammo will not stack until you open the container holding the items
- This prevents crashes from withdrawing items from chests and various exploits
- Beware, when drawing a lot of arrows/bolts from a chest, you may need to "shake" your quiver a few times to get all the stacks to form up, by opening and closing it, or you may hit the item limit sooner than expected.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Joker said:
I tried the bloodstone ring quest and it is broken. Since I do not have high post count I would think you would think that I am just doing it wrong. Which would make sense. So I decided to post a picture of the chest that the criminal evidence is suppose to spawn in with the text in the back that shows that the mayor has said that the letter is in the chest. If I am out of line for posting a picture I am sorry. I just thought that if I put that the bloodstone ring quest isn't working. You would think that I am stuck at the part where the mayor calls the guard. So I am posting a screenshot along with this post so that you can see what the mayor has said.
TL;DR
Bloodstone ring quest is broken. Here is a Screenshot.
mscbloodstone2.png
Click to make the image bigger.
Mayor unrelated to bloodstone quest. Mayor quest being broken already noted in top post.
J-M v2.5.5 said:
<ammo stackie no workie>
Noted at top post already. I too find it odd that it's working for some of my chars but not others - can't seem to figure why though.


Keldorn said:
Servers do not seem to reset by themselves anymore, even with the proper settings.
If you mean ms_reset_if_empty - there was a bugger up where it was resetting after ms_timelimit seconds, instead of ms_timelimit minutes. This should be resolved, but, needless to say, it'll take a lot longer for the server to reset after the last player leaves.
 

Keldorn

New Adventurer
MSC Developer
Mar 12, 2009
531
0
31
New York, NY
Thothie said:
Mayor unrelated to bloodstone quest. Mayor quest being broken already noted in top post.
Mayor is related to bloodstone quest.

Well, Edrin is anyway, and you need the letter for him to point you to the next npc. [/spoilers]

If you mean ms_reset_if_empty - there was a bugger up where it was resetting after ms_timelimit seconds, instead of ms_timelimit minutes. This should be resolved, but, needless to say, it'll take a lot longer for the server to reset after the last player leaves.
Server #11 has been at Lodagond-4 for about 14 hours (and is still at Lodagond-4) with nobody in it.

Server #1 was at Umulak for about 11 hours with nobody in it.

Pretty sure it's just not resetting at all.
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Keldorn said:
Thothie said:
Mayor unrelated to bloodstone quest. Mayor quest being broken already noted in top post.
Mayor is related to bloodstone quest.

Well, Edrin is anyway, and you need the letter for him to point you to the next npc. [/spoilers]
Oh yeah, damnitall. >_> Mayor quest being broken already noted, in any case. (Jeeze, yet another script I've not messed with in ages going bonkers - this time with no base AI to fux it up, hrmm...)

Keldorn said:
Server #11 has been at Lodagond-4 for about 14 hours (and is still at Lodagond-4) with nobody in it.

Server #1 was at Umulak for about 11 hours with nobody in it.

Pretty sure it's just not resetting at all.
Hrmm... Have to check the logs to be sure, but usually that happens when a server crashes during transition, and no one manges to reconnect (in Lodagond-4's case, probably crashed after they were done, so they didn't bother to return). Given that Lodagond-4 is a gauntlet map, I'd reset that server though. Do need a function for dealing with that scenario.

I'll experiment with the HLDS when I get back later today. Given that none of the servers seem to be on Edana though, I'd be willing to bet that ye be right and it be broken.
 

Drathamus

New Adventurer
Blades of Urdual
Mar 8, 2010
114
0
Edana, Georgia
My server seemed to have reset. I left it on Catacombs when I left, and I've just returned and checked, and it IS on Edana. I'm not 100% sure. Seems as if my server resets properly. Could be some fluke.
 

J-M v2.5.5

BANNED
BANNED
Feb 26, 2005
5,677
1
31
Nijmegen, the Netherlands.
Thothie said:
- When not on FN, you can simulate larger parties of powerful players, by using the "fakehp <xxx>" command. "fakehp 9999" will put all self-adjusting creatures at their maximum allowed tier. (This command will also affect any hpreq properties on msmonster/ms_npc entities.)
No offense, but this is the second time you got this wrong in a changelog, first time being all the way back in DEC2007a (I save these logs for mapper toy reference):
Thothie said:
• console command: fakehp <#>
- If not on FN, you can use this command to simulate #hp worth of players in the server to test your reqhp monster spawns
It's ". fakehp [value]". For the longest time I thought this command didn't work at all, until someone else figured out you actually had to put a period in front of it.

There's also ". fplayers [value]" to simulate an amount of players in-game, but I'm quite sure this does not work at all. Can you please confirm this?
 

Thothie

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lead MSC Developer
MSC Developer
Apr 8, 2005
16,199
256
lost
Blarg... There's two fakehp commands, and I coulda sworn one was outside of the dev set, but looks like tis not the case... Dunno what the other one is doing there, but yeah, you'd have to be in dev mode to make it work from where it is. Will fix, but meantime, ". fakehp" should work alright, even outside of dev mode (though not on FN).

fplayers/fakeplayers does not work in most instances, sfaik (maybe for a few specialized scripts, and the older ramp system). Both require code side functions, and I've not gone through all the motions that'd be required to make that one work. Bugger of it is that there's no centralized code functions for these, so you gotta sort through it and apply it in each instance it is of use - in the case of a fakeplayers function, you also have to be careful it doesn't apply some place where it might crash the game (trying to send messages to non-existent players, for instance).

Drathamus said:
My server seemed to have reset. I left it on Catacombs when I left, and I've just returned and checked, and it IS on Edana. I'm not 100% sure. Seems as if my server resets properly. Could be some fluke.
Lemme guess - you don't have ms_reset_if_empty enabled. :\ Yeah, there's a bugger up here... It'll switch to Edana without that enabled - but it won't reset the server. Will fix. I think, for simplicities sake on the script end, I'm going to rig it so it won't reset if the server is already on Edana, but will reset any other map if the ms_timelimit passes in minutes and there are no players, regardless of whether a player has left. This will make it reset gauntlet maps, even if no player ever connects to said gauntlet map after it is loaded, preventing effectively dead servers.

Also think I'm going to increase the reconnect time to help compensate for this new Steam Verification bugger up. I think it has something to do with that mysterious Steam Service I can't seem to get any info on. It maybe caused by players connecting before the server realizes it doesn't have this service.

Code:
Failed to load Steam ServiceServiceStart: failed to startServiceStart: failed to
 startGame Master Spawned
Good to see that Valve's coding is almost as bad as mine... "\n" motherf*ckers! :evil:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top