1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A few questions

Discussion in 'Scripts' started by greatguys1, Jul 28, 2016.

  1. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    Edit: I'm gonna end up throwing random questions in to this post. I may as well have 'em convenient for other people

    Does $get_arrayfind return the idx of the of the string found, or does it return the string found?
    When using callevent or callexternal or calleventloop, is it all called on the same frame?

    Is ent_expowner essentially the person who killed the monster or is it who got the most xp, or is it a token of player ids of who got the xp?

    Is it possible to pull information from a monster that has died?

    Is the game_master persistent across map changes?

    If you use applyeffect and in the effect use $get(ent_creationowner,id), will it grab the id of whoever applied the effect? Or would it grab who spawned the npc you're applying the effect on?

    If you #include a script into another multiple times, does it create "duplicates?" I'm gonna test this later to see if it does.

    Do conditions return true if its 1 or greater than 1? If it's set to a string or is 0 does it not pass?
    What exactly does $vec(x,y,z) do? Could I just use (x,y,z) as coordinates to spawn something?

    How would I get a param passed from an applyeffect?

    How is $within_cone used? I see //(<point origin>,<cone origin>,<cone angles>,<cone apex angle>) in ms.stx, but I don't know what point origin or cone origin means. What does it return?

    Is it possible to assemble a string that could then pull information from a var via the $get(<ent>,scriptvar,<assembled string of the var name>) ?

    Still confused on those if conditionals without brackets...

    Code:
    game_scriptflag_update        //<action> <name> <type> <value> <base_expire_time> - called whenever scriptflags are updated via scriptflags command - do not alter scriptflags here or you may cause an infinite loop (delay 0.1 secs)
    
    Does <action> mean the stuff in:
    Code:
    scriptflags    //New flag tracking system, has several formats, depending on desired action:
           //scriptflags <target> add <name> <type> [value] [expiretime:-1] [expiremsg]
           //- adding a scriptflag with a duplicate name resets its value, and its expire time
           //- unless the name starts with "stack", in which case it should have an expire time set
           //scriptflags <target> remove <name>
           //scriptflags <target> cleartype <type> - removes all of <type> from <target>
           //scriptflags <target> clearall - removes all scriptflags from target ent
           //scriptflags <target> remove_expired - removes expired flags from <target>
           //scriptflags <target> edit <name> <type> <value> [expiretime] [msg] - edits properties of first flag found with this name
    
    Like the "add" "remove" "cleartype" 'n stuff?

    Does setting a quest to '0' still save it to the character?
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2017
  2. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    Index, or -1 if not found. (Like "$get_find_token(<token_sting>,<search_string>)")

    Yes. (Unless you use a delay, of course.)

    Neither. It's the target items or projectiles are passing experience to. (Really only applies to projectiles created via tossprojectile.)

    There's, currently, no script array from which to pull the IDs of the players who struck the monster. Closest you can get is ent_laststruck (the last entity that struck the monster - which maybe an NPC or entity summoned by a player). Been meaning to implement one, as the information is stored code side on the mob, but not sure how easy it's going to be.

    You *might* be able to pull some information via $get(<dead_target>,scriptvar,<xxx>) for a few seconds, but no further scripts will run on the entity once game_death and anything called from there (without a delay) has completed. Generally, if you want a dead mob to store information, have it do so via a callexternal on the game_master or player where the mob calls game_death. (Though you can resurrect it by using "setalive 1" in game_death, but it leads to complications - see monsters reference skeleton_base or mummy_base.)

    No, it resets with each map change. Globals (setvarg) persist between map changes, but only if there's no crash.
     
  3. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    Could I do:
    Code:
    { game_death
    
    	local L_KILLER_ID ent_laststruck
    	if ( $get(L_KILLER_ID,isplayer) )
    	{
    		//Do Things
    	}
    	else if ( $get($get(L_KILLER_ID,owner),isplayer) )
    	{
    		//Do Things
    	}
    }
    
    To emulate a "killer"?
     
  4. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    Wouldn't cover every situation... Sometimes the final kill is even done through the game_master.

    Slightly more thorough might be:
    Code:
    { game_death
    
    	local L_KILLER_ID $get(ent_laststruck,id)
    	if ( !$get(L_KILLER_ID,isplayer) )
    	{
    		local L_POSSIBLE $get(L_KILLER_ID,scriptvar,'MY_OWNER') //player summoned mob or effect
    		if ( $get(L_POSSIBLE,isplayer) )
    		{
    			local L_KILLER_ID L_POSSIBLE
    		}
    		else
    		{
    			local L_POSSIBLE $get(L_KILLER_ID,owner) //hopefully player projectile or weapon effect
    			if $get(L_POSSIBLE,isplayer)
    			local L_KILLER_ID L_POSSIBLE
    		}
    	}
    
    	if ( $get(L_KILLER_ID,isplayer) )
    	{
    		//[whatevs]
    	}
    }
    
    Trying to think of a way to pull ent_expowner from L_KILLER_ID, which would be more dependable for projectiles, but I'm having a brain fart as to how to do that. Nadda ya can do for some of the other possible situations. There is a code invoked script event on the player side that goes off whenever they gain XP, but it doesn't pass the monster ID, so no go.

    Might also want that inside your "NPC_COUNT_DEATHS" conditional, or whatevs, so as to not add overhead for monster deaths on every map.
     
  5. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    If you use applyeffect and in the effect use $get(ent_creationowner,id), will it grab the id of whoever applied the effect? Or would it grab who spawned the npc you're applying the effect on?
     
  6. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    The latter.

    (ent_creationowner is the script that spawned the script, when said script is spawned via createnpc.)

    Most applyeffects pass the inflicter as the second parameter for this reason.

    ms.stx:
    Code:
    blind			//<duration>
    effect_burn		//<duration> <inflictor_id> [damage] [noglow_shell-0|1] [nolight-0|1] [xp_skill] //EFFECT_ID DOT_fire
    effect_drunk		//<duration>
    effect_flames		//<duration> - fx only
    effect_freeze		//<duration> <???> - secondary djinn effect
    effect_frost		//<duration> [inflictor_id] <dmg> [glow-0|1] [xp_skill] - (djinn_ice version)
    effect_frostbite	//<duration> [inflictor_id]
    effect_frostbite_dmg	//<duration> <inflictor_id> <dmg> [xp_skill]  //EFFECT_ID DOT_cold
    effect_holy_dmg		//<duration> <inflictor_id> <dmg> [xp_skill]  //EFFECT_ID DOT_holy
    effect_iceshield	//<duration> <dmg_multiplier>
    effect_light		//<duration> <radius> <color>
    effect_poison		//<duration> <inflictor_id> <dmg> <poison/disease-0|1> [xp_skill] //EFFECT_ID DOT_poison
    effect_push		//<duration> <(vel)> [screenshake-0|1]
    effect_rejuv2		//<heal_amt> [divinaion_skill] [healer_id]
    effect_shock_dmg	//<duration> <inflictor_id> [dmg] [xp_skill] //EFFECT_ID DOT_lightning
    effect_stun		//<duration> [slow_push-0|1] [cant_attack-0|1] [attacker]
    freeze_solid		//<duration> <inflictor_id> [damage] [xp_skill] 
    generic_damage		//<dmg> <inflictor_id> [noise-0|1] [dmg_type] [xp_skill] 
    greater_poison		//<duration> <inflictor_id> <dmg> [xp_skill] //EFFECT_ID DOT_gpoison
    poison_spore		//<duration> <inflictor_id> <dmg> [xp_skill] 
    heavy_stun		//<duration> [inflictor_id] [cant_attack:0|1]
    protection		//<duration> <dmg_multiplier>
    sfx_motionblur		//<ent_idx> [duration]
    speed			//<duration> <speed%> <framerate> - not sure if this works 100%
    torch_flame		//<duration> - less sticky than items/base_lighted
    effect_poison_dmg	//convention alias: effect_poison
    effect_fire_dmg		//convention alias: effect_burn
    effect_cold_dmg		//convention alias: effect_frostbite_dmg
    effect_lightning_dmg	//convention alias: effect_shock_dmg
    hold_person		//<duration> <inflictor_id> [dmg]
    effect_webbed		//<cocoon_hp[x10,usually use mons maxhp]> <web_strength[>1 reduces #webs needed for cocoon]> [attacker] [duration] [dot]
    effect_poison_blinding //<duration> <inflictor_id> [dmg] [xp_skill]
    
     
  7. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    Thanks for all the help so far. I've got another one for you:
    Are effects pretty much their own "object"? Are they removed when the thing it's applied to dies?

    Also
    Do monsters already try to attack critical npcs when in siege mode? Is siege mode activated when a critical npc is added? If not, how do I activate it?
     
  8. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    It layers another script upon the existing object, sorta as if you did it via #include, but there's some oddities with the interaction, such as the fact that the previously existing script's callevents aren't triggered within the added applyeffect script, but the reverse works.

    Calling the event "critical_npc" on any AI-enabled script will activate siege mode for all subsequently spawned monsters, meaning about a third of them will dedicate themselves to hunting the NPC, and be reluctant to engage players lest beat on enough, favoring the critical target. (If you are in developer mode, the NPCs doing this will glow like so.)

    If you need to invoke it from an NPC that doesn't have AI, the monsters/externals event looks like so:
    Code:
    { critical_npc
    
    	//for siege mode maps
    	invincible 0
    	setvard NPC_CRITICAL 1
    	token.add G_CRITICAL_NPCS $get(ent_me,id)
    	setvarg G_SIEGE_MAP 1
    	local FIRST_TOKEN $get_token(G_CRITICAL_NPCS,0)
    	if ( !$get(FIRST_TOKEN,isalive) ) token.del G_CRITICAL_NPCS 0 //fix buggy token creation
    }
    Since G_CRITICAL_NPCS is a token string, you are limited in the number of critical NPCs you can have active at the same time (maybe ~10). G_SIEGE_MAP and G_CRITICAL_NPCS are reset at map start via sv_world.
     
  9. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    If you #include a script into another multiple times, does it create "duplicates?" Like say I have a script with
    Code:
    { messageneer
    dplayermessage PLAYERID "Message received"
    }
    
    And I #include it twice. If I callevent messageneer, would it display it twice?

    Also
    If I use
    Code:
    if ( MESSAGE_RECIEVED )
    { //things }
    Would the condition only pass if its 1 or greater than 1? If it's set to a string or is 0 does it not pass?
     
  10. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    I've... Never tried that... But I assume so.

    IIRC MESSAGE_RECIEVED will return true so long as it is non-zero and not unset.
     
  11. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    What exactly does $vec(x,y,z) do? Could I just use (x,y,z) as coordinates to spawn something?
     
  12. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    It assembles a series of numbers and/or vars into a proper vector, or returns a specific element of a vector.

    Examples:
    Code:
    	local TELE_POINT $vec(512,128,-16)
    	vectoradd T_SPAWN $relpos($vec(0,ROT_STEP,0),$vec(0,F_DIST,40))
    	local TARGET_Z $vec.z(TARGET_POS)
    	setprop ent_me avelocity $vec(L_HAND_SPEED,0,0)
    And yes, you can use it to define a spawn point. Generally, rather than passing raw vector data (eg. "(2000,2000,2000)"), it's better to use $vec(2000,2000,2000) as it generally prevents parsing issues and generates the proper floats.
     
  13. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    How would I get a param passed from an applyeffect? I see some getting it from game_activate, but my attempt doesn't seem to work. Doesn't really seem there's too much documentation on it either.
    Code:
    { game_activate
    
    	setvard DQ_WHERE_IS_THE_CREATOR PARAM1 //What's he saying?
    	setvard DQ_QUEST_TAKER_ID $get(DQ_WHERE_IS_THE_CREATOR,scriptvar,'QUEST_TAKER')
    
    	if ( $get(DQ_QUEST_TAKER_ID,exists) )
    	{
    		setvard MAX_DMG $get(DQ_QUEST_TAKER_ID,maxhp)
    	}
    }
    
    I also just tried
    Code:
    {
    
    	setvard DQ_WHERE_IS_THE_CREATOR PARAM1 //What's he saying?
    	setvard DQ_QUEST_TAKER_ID $get(DQ_WHERE_IS_THE_CREATOR,scriptvar,'QUEST_TAKER')
    
    	if ( $get(DQ_QUEST_TAKER_ID,exists) )
    	{
    		setvard MAX_DMG $get(DQ_QUEST_TAKER_ID,maxhp)
    	}
    }
     
  14. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    That should work - applyeffect <target> <effect_script> [params...] should pass all params to game_activate of <effect_script>.

    Could we see the applyeffect command on the application side of the script? Maybe there's a problem in the way the params are setup.
     
  15. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    I was trying to pass a monster id through a timed event. The effect was never getting put on in the first place. My bad :oops:
     
  16. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    How is $within_cone used? I see //(<point origin>,<cone origin>,<cone angles>,<cone apex angle>) in ms.stx, but I don't know what point origin or cone origin means. What does it return?
     
  17. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    Returns 1 if <point_origin> is within the defined cone.

    The screwy bit is <cone_apex_angle> - it seems to work differently depending on the script (maybe server/client side thing or player/monster thing, not sure).

    Shields and polearms use it to determine if an attack is coming from the front when blocking, thusly:
    Code:
    if $within_cone2D(TARG_ORG,OWNER_ORG,OWNER_ANG,100)
    Dragon Axe determines if things are within the cone of fire, thusly:
    Code:
    if $within_cone2D(TARG_ORG,OWNER_ORG,OWNER_ANG,30)
    But those same apex angles seem too wide for monsters... Thus, polar bear breath:
    Code:
    if $within_cone2D(TARG_ORG,game.monster.origin,game.monster.angles,10)
    Even this works for a straight wide line, such as with the newer-elve's slam-line attacks:
    Code:
    if $within_cone2D(L_TARG_ORG,L_MY_ORG,L_MY_ANG,0.2)
    ($get_inbox would be better, but the code side of that needs some tweaking so we can provide it with mins/maxs.)

    Even with the 2D variant, it expects a full set of angles, not just the yaw.
     
  18. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    Is there a specific function to get global vars? I know there's one for arrays, which is why I'm curious. Also where would you use setvar? Never really found a use for it
     
  19. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    Setvarg global vars are "gotten" the same way as any other var, just use their literal names (eg. "if G_WEATHER_LOCK"). Keep in mind they are server side only though. If you're trying to pull them at console through tdebug, make a scriptvar request for the variable from any debuggable mob or chest. (eg. ". tdebug ent_me scriptvar G_NOOB_ARROWS", or, I suppose, "lplayers scriptvar G_NOOB_ARROWS" will also work, if there's no mobs about.)

    Also keep in mind that they persist between maps if the server doesn't smash (as it so often does), so you need to initiate them.

    The "setvar" command is very rarely used, but it's purpose is for when you need something set at load or precache time, before run time, and may change it later. This, primarily, comes into play for idle and walk animations that need to be set on the monster when it spawns, before the AI starts looping, for a cleaner spawn in. In some of the older scripts, it gets used incorrectly, either due to conventions used in older versions, or simple misunderstandings among amature scripters as to its use. This did occasionally cause problems, though I think we've caught most of those over the years. (IIRC, a big one was one of the Edana quests - it was using the last occurrence of setvar it found in the script, causing the quest to always read as completed. Took forever to catch that - think we can pin the blame on Lord K or Evaan - the bug was so old.)

    Suffice to say, 99.999% of the time, stick to "setvard" (or "local", if you don't need it outside of the event, of course). Setvar's are also the one case where you can re-define the type safely (though only via "setvard", not "const" or "local").
     
  20. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    I can only find minimal documentation regarding effects. I can take a guess at a few, like reg.effect.name, but these others I don't really know what they're for.
    Code:
    reg.effect.flags
    
    game.effect.removeondeath //I can take a guess at what this does, but does it take <1|0> inputs?
    game.effect.id
    game.effect.flags
    game.effect.type
    
    registereffect
    I imagine registereffect is similar to how registerattack works, but would still like an idea as to what exactly it does.
     
  21. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    game.effect.removeondeath
    - Yes, removes effect from the entity on death. This should always be 1, aside from a few player effects. (It defaults to 1 in the base.)

    game.effect.id
    - This is the ID used for $get(<target>,haseffect,<effect_id>), and removeeffect <target> <effect_id>
    - DOT effects usually have their effect_id prefixed with DOT_

    game.effect.flags
    - The only flag in use at the moment is "nostack", which prevents repeated applications of the same effect if an effect with the same effect_id is applied.

    game.effect.type
    - This... Umm... The hell...
    Code:
    	foreach( i, m_Scripts.size() )
    	{
    		CScript *Script = m_Scripts[i];
    		if( !Script->VarExists( "game.effect.type" ) )
    			continue;
    
    		//Update stuff based on effect script variables.
    		//To check for a 'true' blocking value make sure that it has explicitly set to "0".  If it was never set at all, assume false.
    		int EffectFlags = 0;
    		if( !strcmp(Script->GetVar( "game.effect.canmove" ),"0") ) SetBits( EffectFlags, PLAYER_MOVE_NOMOVE );
    		if( !strcmp(Script->GetVar( "game.effect.canrun" ),"0") ) SetBits( EffectFlags, PLAYER_MOVE_NORUN );
    		if( !strcmp(Script->GetVar( "game.effect.canjump" ),"0") ) SetBits( EffectFlags, PLAYER_MOVE_NOJUMP );
    		if( !strcmp(Script->GetVar( "game.effect.canduck" ),"0") ) SetBits( EffectFlags, PLAYER_MOVE_NODUCK );
    		if( !strcmp(Script->GetVar( "game.effect.canattack" ),"0") ) SetBits( EffectFlags, PLAYER_MOVE_NOATTACK );
    
    		SetBits( m_StatusFlags, EffectFlags );	//Add the movement blocking flags from this effect to the player's list
    
    		if( strcmp(Script->GetVar( "game.effect.updateplayer" ),"1") )
    			continue;
    
    		//logfile << "XEBUG: ApplyEffect->Client " << Script->GetVar("game.effect.displayname") << "\n";
    
    		MESSAGE_BEGIN( MSG_ONE, g_netmsg[NETMSG_CLDLLFUNC], NULL, pev );
    			WRITE_BYTE( 16 );
    			WRITE_BYTE( 1 );
    			WRITE_STRING( Script->GetVar("game.effect.id") );
    			WRITE_STRING( Script->GetVar("game.effect.displayname") );
    		MESSAGE_END();
    
    		Script->SetVar( "game.effect.updateplayer", 0 );
    	}
    
    Eh, I've no idea what that does. But, apparently, if it isn't set, subsequent effect conditionals won't take place. In the base, it simply has game.effect.flags mirrored to it.

    Aside from that weirdness, please note that effects/effect_base is also used by player/emote_sit&stand, thus any erroneous changes to it will break the ability for players to sit/emote (or even prevent the game from loading entirely). Said constant applyeffect is also used to alter player speed through scriptflags.


    What I'd *really* like to do, however, is move the whole applyeffect DOT system to a scriptflags function that just applies the non-expired stacks of DOT damage to the target every second. This would prevent the effect where, for instance, when a low level player catches a mob on fire, any more powerful fire effect from more powerful players will be ignored until it times out, let multiple players stack damage of the same element, as well as remove the overhead of the applyeffect system from DOTs entirely.

    The scriptflag data would need a tokenized string containing the ID of the attacker, in addition to the damage done, in order to credit said damage properly, which may make it more difficult to simply add up the scriptflags via $get_scriptflag(<target>,<type>,type_value)... Though maybe one could store the effect_id in <type>, the attacker ID in <name>, and the DOT in <value>. Applyeffects that screw with movement might still need to be as they are though. (There's a scriptflag for player speed, but there's also the difficulty of locking targets in place, and I dun think there's any such scriptflag for mobs yet.)

    The scriptflags system is, however, incredibly complicated, as you might garner from the ms.stx.
     
  22. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    Is it possible to assemble a string that could then pull information from a var? Sorta like:
    Code:
    {
       const THIS_THING 1
       const THIS_THING 2
    }
    
    { game_spawn
       local L_STRING_THIS "THIS_"
       local L_STRING_THING "THING"
    
       local L_RAND $rand(1,2)
    
       local L_THINGY L_STRING_THIS
       stradd L_THINGY L_STRING_THING
       stradd L_THINGY L_RAND
    
       local L_THINGY $get(ent_me,scriptvar,L_THINGY)
    }
    
    Or something like that
     
  23. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    I... Ummm.... Hrmm.... Wait... What?

    Joe1j_f-maxage-0_s-200x150.gif

    ...I'd have to test and get back to you on that.

    Though, I've no idea why you'd do such a thing - and if you found a reason, there's probably a more sensical way to go about it.

    (Though I assume you mean:)
    Code:
    setvard THIS_THING1 1
    setvard THIS_THING2 2
    ...as otherwise, I'm having my mind blown for no reason, and simply have no idea what you're trying to do. (Also you can't pull constants via scriptvar.)

    Also, you'd have to $int() that rand, otherwise you would get THIS_THING1.00/THIS_THING2.00.

    ...to correct and simplify:
    Code:
    { event_of_insanity
    	setvard THIS_THING1 string1
    	setvard THIS_THING2 string2
    
    	local L_PULL_RND_VAR 'THIS_THING'
    	local L_RND $rand(1,2)
    	stradd L_PULL_RND_VAR $int(L_RND)
    	saytext Rnd var content is $get(ent_me,scriptvar,L_PULL_RND_VAR)
    	//theoretically returns either "string1" or "string2"
    }
    Is what you're trying to do, yes? Pull a var for which the name has been randomly selected? Not sure if it'll work, or what situation you'd get yourself into where you'd need it, will have to test when I get back.
     
  24. greatguys1

    greatguys1 Active Adventurer Developer Warriors of the North

    279
    34
    Apr 20, 2013
    Yes
    I'm trying to have a thing build a string of the var it needs then get it that way. Otherwise I'd have to write a whole new thing for each var that I want. Trying to take a shortcut :I
    And yeah, that is what I mean
     
  25. Thothie

    Thothie Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Developer

    15,079
    54
    Apr 8, 2005
    psycho-oligist
    lost
    Yeeeah, while it may be possible, an array could probably be implemented do it more simply, if simply passing the intended the var into a temporary var wouldn't. I'd have to see the sauce to be sure, of course, just can't imagine a situation where it'd be otherwise off the top of my head.
     

Share This Page